As I teeter on the edge between collegiate life and whatever else may be out there for me, I’m finding creative ways to make sure I’m writing, writing, writing (and editing, editing, editing.)  This blog being one of them.  Now what to blog about?  Cooking through an entire cookbook?  Too cliché.  Freelance writing about various topics in the news?  Too broad – and possibly too boring.  And then over the holidays, a light bulb went off.  I love baking.  Why not write about what I love?

So here’s the plan – well I’m using the word “plan” loosely because this is going to be a random, fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants and possibly erratic project.  About two or three times a month I’m going to bake a different homemade dessert I have never made before.  From scratch – if you didn’t catch that.  Scout’s honor, cross my heart and hope to die.  (Hmm that looks morbid actually typed out, but you get the picture.)  While I’m trying to figure out what to do with my life, which is no small task I might add, I’m going to bake and write my way into an epiphany.  I hope.

So as I don a dress-like apron (which, let’s just be honest, makes baking much more fun), armed with my new Crate & Barrel sifter in one hand and a hand-me-down rolling pin in the other, I’m embarking on what will hopefully begin my career in journalism – no matter how unconventional.  Enjoy!

