Tags

, , , ,

Well this post was a long time coming!  I haven’t written in so long because my computer got a virus, and my internet was on the fritz.  That would happen right after I mentioned having no major catastrophes.  Oh well…I’m back!

I wouldn’t quite say that making the coffee cake was “fraught with disaster,” as I believe I put it, but it definitely wasn’t as smooth as the first dessert.  First of all, I wanted all the ingredients to be room temperature…well just because.  I’ve heard this is best when baking.  Make sure you have plenty of time though because I had issues.  I put the butter out to soften at about 5:00 p.m., which in my opinion turned out to be too late in the day to wait for it to soften.  This process takes a while if you didn’t already know.  To speed up the process, I put the butter on top of the microwave so it would soften quicker when my roommates or I would heat up food or something.  Well wouldn’t you know that I lost track of time, and the butter proceeded to melt.  The eggs were too cold while the butter was melting.  Frustrated as I was, I put it all back in the fridge and committed to restarting the whole process in the morning.

The next day I took both out of the fridge and waited a few hours for both to reach room temperature.  (I think next time I’ll either make sure I have an ample amount of time, or I won’t worry about the room temp thing so much.)  The only other problem I had was with the filling.  Because the recipe calls for brown sugar, flour, cinnamon and blueberries in the filling, I mixed all four together not realizing the blueberries didn’t get mixed in with the dry ingredients at all.  You fill a third of the pan with the batter, then sprinkle some of the dry filling ingredients over the top, and then top the dry stuff with blueberries and repeat the process.  So I had to rinse all the dry ingredients off the blueberries and once again measure out the brown sugar, flour and cinnamon…and this time keep it far away from the blueberries!  So basically, it wasn’t that the recipe was hard at all.  It was just that my “problems” resulted from my own personal blunders that, if you know me, you might call “vintage Brett.”

The cake turned out pretty well.  It baked in just the right amount of time and looked like it should.  Drizzling the glaze over the top was a strangely satisfying experience ( I realized I like drizzling things.)  Honestly, I didn’t enjoy it quite as much as the crisp, but it was more versatile.  You could eat it for dessert or for breakfast or for a snack.  And it’s equally good with a cup of coffee at any time of day…hence the name “coffee cake” I suppose!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe

  • 10-12 Servings
  • Prep: 25 min. Bake: 55 min. + cooling

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1-1/2 cups sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (8 ounces) sour cream
  • FILLING:
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries
  • GLAZE:
  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 2 to 3 tablespoons 2% milk

Directions

  • In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in vanilla. Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt; add to creamed mixture alternately with sour cream, beating well after each addition.
  • Spoon a third of the batter into a greased and floured 10-in. tube pan. Combine brown sugar, flour and cinnamon; sprinkle half over batter. Top with half of the berries. Repeat layers. Top with remaining batter.
  • Bake at 350° for 55-65 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes before removing from pan to a wire rack to cool completely. Combine glaze ingredients; drizzle over cake. Yield: 10-12 servings.
