Tags

, , ,

Confession: I actually made these cookies for my blog about a year and a half ago and never got around to posting them.  (Talk about procrastination!)  I even took pictures but forgot they were on my camera until I found them this week.  Que sera, sera.

Right after I made Ina’s (or the Barefoot Contessa – I enjoy talking about Ina as if I know her…I just love her!) Pear, Apple and Cranberry Crisp, I wanted to make a dessert by a different Food Network chef.  So I browsed through Giada De Laurentiis‘s recipes and her Lemon Ricotta Cookies with Lemon Glaze sounded good.  They were different from anything I had ever made or even tasted.  Though I have to admit they don’t make my top ten list.  Their consistency is more like a cake than a cookie, which isn’t what I personally look for in a cookie, but some people love that.  So if you’re a cake-y cookie person, or just want to try something different, these are for you!

Lemon Ricotta Cookies with Lemon Glaze

Yields 44 cookies.

Ingredients

For the cookies:

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 (15-oz) container whole milk ricotta cheese
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 lemon, zested

For the glaze:

  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 lemon, zested

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  • Combine flour, baking powder and salt in mixing bowl and set aside.
  • In another bowl, cream butter and sugar with an electric mixer until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.
  • Add eggs one at a time, beating until incorporated.
  • Add ricotta cheese, lemon juice and lemon zest.  Beat to combine.
  • Stir in dry ingredients.
  • Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.  Spoon out about two tablespoons of dough per cookie.
  • Bake 15 minutes, until slightly golden at the edges.  Remove from oven and let cookies rest on baking sheets for 20 minutes.
  • For the glaze, combine powdered sugar, lemon juice and lemon zest in a small bowl and stir until smooth.  Spoon about 1/2 teaspoon on each cookie and spread gently.  Let glaze harden for about two hours.
