Tags

, , , ,

I’ve started going to the farmers’ market every week, where there’s a treasure trove of fresh, local produce, which I hope will greatly influence what I bake for this blog.  A few weeks ago, I featured a peach cobbler with tree-ripened South Carolina peaches.  And this week: local North Carolina blueberries for blueberry muffins!

I truly believe in buying locally and supporting local farmers, plus the food is fresher and tastes better to boot!  Buying locally also cuts down on fuel and oil usage, of which it takes a ton to pick, clean, package and transport our food to us.  Anyway, I’ll get off my soapbox now so you can check out these delicious muffins! (For more info on why you should buy local, read some of Michael Pollan’s articles on his Web site.)

I first tried these muffins back in college when I was at my friend’s house having breakfast for dinner (don’t you just love doing that every now and then?)  She made these, and they were the best blueberry muffins I’d ever had.  Since then, I’ve made them for breakfast, to sell at garage sales or for no reason at all, and they’re amazing every time.

Mmmm…

The batter is gorgeous with those perfect, plump blueberries.

How rad are these wrappers?!  I found them at Michael’s.

Blueberry Muffins

Makes 8 muffins.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cups white sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt, preferably kosher or sea salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Grease muffin pan or line with muffin liners.
  • Combine flour, sugar, salt and baking powder.
  • Place vegetable oil into a 1-cup measuring cup; add the egg and enough milk to fill the cup.
  • Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and mix.
  • Fold in blueberries.
  • Fill muffin cups right to the top and bake for 20-25 minutes.

(Recipe adapted from Allrecipes.com.)

