Tags

, , , , , , ,

Show me a person who doesn’t like strawberry shortcake and I’ll just eat my shoe, or something equally ridiculous, because this stuff is seriously good.  It’s summer in a sweet little red, white and yellow package.  I won’t say too much since this post is brimming over with photos this week, but I added local honey and fresh lemon juice to the cake, which are not typical ingredients in shortcake, and it was baked in a muffin pan instead of a typical loaf pan because I wanted individual shortcakes.  (Although you can certainly use a loaf pan if you want.)  I added lemon juice and vanilla to the whipped cream as well to flavor it up.

Strawberry (Honey Lemon) Shortcake (Printable recipe page)

Makes 12 individual cakes (or one small loaf)

For the cakes:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3/4 stick (6 tbsp) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla

For the filling/topping:

  • 1/2 pint whipping cream
  • 1/2 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • About one pint of strawberries (or however many you’d like!)

Cream the softened butter and sugar together.  Add the three eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.

Sift the dry ingredients (flour, salt and baking powder) together so you can get out all the lumps.  Mix in half the flour mixture, then the milk, the other half of the flour, and last the vanilla, honey and lemon juice.

Have you ever tried Sourwood honey, by the way?  Deelish.  New favorite honey, hands down.  I bought a tiny Mason jar of it at the farmers’ market to test it out, and it’s the best honey I’ve ever had.  It’s hard to explain, but Sourwood is not as sweet as Clover, Orange Blossom or Tupelo honey.  It’s very light in color and taste and only slightly sweet.  There’s a distinct taste to mass-produced (or even other local honeys) that I don’t particularly care for, but it’s curiously absent from Sourwood honey.

Pour the batter into a lightly greased muffin pan or small loaf pan.  Bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes (a little longer if you’re using a loaf pan) until golden brown.  Watch closely.

While the cakes are cooling, add the vanilla and lemon juice to the whipping cream and whip on high speed for about 5 minutes.

When they’re completely cooled, cut each shortcake in half and fill with whipped cream and sliced strawberries.

Put its little top back on and garnish with more whipped cream and strawberries.  Voila!  How wonderful is this?!

And what inspired it all: farmers’ market strawberries!  How beautiful are these babies?!

And look at the adorable apron my friend Suzanne‘s mom made for me!  (I looove the pocket!)  From now on I’ll be wearing this when I bake 🙂


