Tags

, , , ,

Scones always represented a far-off goal to me.  That I might one day, in the future, consider the possibility of perhaps trying to make them.  Maybe.  The idea had potential.  Years of potential in fact.  The day has finally come.

I remember when I tried my first scone.  I was at a Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf in Los Angeles, and my friend Jen could not believe I’d never had a scone and insisted I get one. (On the same trip, I also ended up trying chewable vitamins; the boba part of boba, or bubble, tea [they’re tapioca balls if you didn’t already know], after which I covertly exchanged that huge straw for a small one; and learned how to eat a kiwi right out of the skin with a spoon.  A rather educational trip on the whole.)

Every time I went to a coffee shop my eyes would linger for a moment on the scones, and I experienced that all-too-familiar internal debate of whether to try something new or go with the safe slice of lemon or marble pound cake.  I just always got the pound cake.  Not this time.  My Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf scone was delicious.  I couldn’t believe it had taken me years to finally try one, especially since I’ve always considered myself to be somewhat of an Anglophile, and scones are so British.  How absurd that it should take this long!

Yeah, so here I am five years later makin’ scones!

Blueberry Scones with Lemon Glaze (printable recipe page)

  • 8 tbsp (1 stick) unsalted butter, frozen whole
  • 1½ cups (7½ oz.) fresh blueberries
  • ½ cup whole milk
  • ½ cup sour cream
  • 2 cups (10 oz.) all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting the work surface
  • ½ cup sugar, plus extra for sprinkling
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • ¼ tsp. baking soda
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. finely grated lemon zest
  • 2 tbsp. unsalted butter, melted

(I ended up halving the recipe because I didn’t need that many scones.)

Preheat the oven to 425.  Grate the frozen butter with a cheese grater or use the grating attachment for the food processor.  (This is ingenious!  By grating the butter, it’s already the size of peas when you toss it with the flour!)

Whisk the milk and sour cream together.  Leave it in the fridge until you need it. (And here’s my cute little French whisk.)

Zest your lemon.  Combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt and lemon zest in a medium-sized mixing bowl.  Whisk to combine.  Add the grated butter to the flour mixture and toss with your fingers until thoroughly coated.

Add the milk and sour cream to the flour mixture and fold with a spatula just until combined.  Transfer the dough to a generously floured work surface.  Dust the top of the dough with flour, and knead with well floured hands, 6-8 times, just until the dough holds together in a ragged ball.  Add small amounts of flour as needed to prevent sticking.  Roll out the dough and cut into any shape you like.  (I went with simple circles for my first time making scones.)

Press however many blueberries you like into each scone, so they are slightly embedded in the dough.  Brush the tops of the scones with melted butter and sprinkle lightly with sugar. (If freezing ahead of time, flash freeze on the baking sheet for 20 minutes, then wrap individually and store in a freezer bag until needed.)  Bake until the tops and bottoms are golden brown, 18-25 minutes. (Mine took a little less time.) Transfer to a wire rack and let cool at least 10 minutes before serving.

While the scones are cooling, stir together 1 cup of confectioner’s sugar and 2-3 teaspoons of lemon juice to make the glaze.  When the scones are cooled, drizzle the glaze over each one.

Like so.

(Scone recipe adapted from Entertaining from Cook’s Illustrated, Spring 2009 via Smells Like Home.  Glaze adapted from Bella Eats.)

