Tags

, , ,

Happy Labor Day!  I’m deviating a little with these crackers as they are obviously not a dessert, but I did bake them so we’re not completely out of the sacred realm of baked goods.  Plus, autumn is just around the corner (!), and I want to use as much of my fresh herbs as possible while it’s still summertime.

These are very curious crackers.  They’re not crunchy.  Yeah.  Weird, right?  They’re more soft and crumbly with an almost savory-pie-crust type consistency.  I’ve seen Ina make crackers a few times, and I’ve always wanted to try one of her recipes.  She makes them to accompany cocktails before a meal as a kind of starter course.  So I would imagine that these crackers, despite their lack of crunchiness, would be great with fruit, cheese and cocktails.  One day, I will attempt crunchy crackers!

My little, quickly-being-depleted thyme plant.

Parmesan Thyme Crackers (printable recipe page)

(Recipe adapted from Ina Garten)

  • 1 stick unsalted butter
  • 3 oz. grated Parmesan
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp chopped fresh thyme leaves
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper

That’s it!

Grate the Parmesan. Place the butter in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment and mix until creamy. Add the Parmesan, flour, salt, thyme and pepper and combine.

Dump the dough on a lightly floured surface and roll into a 13-inch long log. Wrap the log in plastic wrap and place in the freezer for 30 minutes to harden.

Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Cut the log crosswise into 1/4 to 1/2-inch thick slices. Place the slices on a sheet pan and bake for 22 minutes.

