Tags

, , , , , ,

I am thankful for cool weather and sunshine.  I am thankful for the booming laughs when my family is together.  I am thankful for football and how many games we will watch in the next few days.  I am thankful for the few heroic leaves that cling to the trees while the rest lay in a colorful heap beneath.  I am thankful for the Christmas music and movies that are just waiting to be enjoyed.  I am thankful for wonderful food and people with which to share it.  And especially this morning, I am grateful for new and delicious experiments!

Orange Cranberry Sauce (recipe adapted from Julia Child via A Kitchen Muse)

  • 1-12 oz. bag cranberries, washed and picked over
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup fresh orange juice
  • zest of 1 orange
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon

Wash and pick over cranberries, and place in a large sauce pan with other ingredients.  Cook over medium heat, stirring frequently, until cranberries burst, about 10 minutes.  Cool and serve.

Cranberries are just so darn pretty.

Something about fresh, homemade cranberry sauce allows you to experience the classic sweetness and sourness simultaneously that you just don’t get from store-bought sauce.  I love it.

Happy Thanksgiving!

