Tags

, ,

This is my first foray into biscotti making.  I came across this recipe and it seemed to fit the season so well.  And it’s a savory biscotti, which is a little different.  Plus I got this really great (and festive!) rosemary tree.  Besides it being pretty for decoration, I now have more rosemary than I know what the heck to do with.

I’ve had biscotti maybe twice in my life, but since I drink tea so often and many times wish I had something to snack on while I drink a cup, I thought biscotti might be the perfect nibbler with tea.  Or coffee.  Or cocoa.  Or hot cider.  I love this time of year.

Rosemary Citrus Biscotti (recipe adapted from The Olive Oil Times)

  • 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 cups whole-wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 1 teaspoon orange zest
  • 1/2 tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

*I halved this recipe, hence the fewer amount of ingredients above.

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.  Mix the flour, baking powder and salt in a bowl.  In a separate bowl, massage the zest and rosemary into the sugar.  Add the olive oil, juice and eggs to the sugar mixture, and beat until smooth.

Gradually add the dry ingredients into the wet and mix until dough pulls together.  Divide the dough in half and form two 12 x13-inch logs on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  Bake for about 35 minutes or until the logs are light brown.

Remove from the oven and cut diagonally into 3/4-inch slices with a bread knife.  Lay them on their sides, reduce the oven temperature to 275 and return to the oven for 25-40 minutes (depending on how dry you like your biscotti), flipping them halfway through the baking time.  Cool completely before stacking or storing.  They may be kept in an airtight container for up to 3 weeks.

These are savory, not sweet, like most biscotti.  They’re actually a little healthier too, with olive oil instead of the normal butter.  I still want to try a sweeter version one day.

It’s so perfect with a cup of Lady Grey tea with its notes of citrus.

And here’s my happy little rosemary tree.

