Tags

, ,

I am the proud owner of my very own Kitchen Aid standing mixer.  Yes, it’s true.  I knew I was getting one, and it was close to torture knowing it was in the house but couldn’t use it until Christmas.  And now the day has come and gone, kind of sad, but I am now at liberty to use my red, beautiful, wonderful mixer until my heart’s content.  And since we opened presents on Christmas Eve this year, I used it that same night to make some spiced (to make it more festive, ya know) banana bread!

Life is good.

Spiced Banana Bread

  • 1/2 cup of butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 overripe bananas
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp salt

p.s. I totally, unbeknownst to myself, used our last stick of butter in this recipe, and we were left with no butter for our Christmas dinner.  And all the stores were closed of course.  We had to ask our guests to bring some with them.  Oops.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Mash the bananas with a fork or in your handy dandy standing mixer.  (I was like a little kid watching my mixer perform its first task.  I’m a proud mama.)

Add in the sugar, vanilla, and butter and mix.

Add the flour, salt, baking soda and spices.  Mix until just combined. Scrape the sides and stir the bottom with a spatula, making sure all the flour is mixed in.

Pour into a greased loaf pan, and bake for 55-60 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.  Oh and I sincerely apologize for the awful lighting in these pictures.  It was nighttime, and a horrible time for picture taking, but I obviously couldn’t resist documenting the first recipe made with my mixer.  Obviously.

I forgot to take a picture when it came out of the oven, so here it is after I already cut into it :/

It tastes like you’re eating oh so many bananas all at once, with just a hint of spice.

