Tags

, ,

Happy 2012!  2011 brought me lots of ups and downs, a move and a new blog among other things.  I’m not one for setting specific New Year’s resolutions, but I can say that this year I hope to 1) find a real, grown-up job, 2) read new books regularly, 3) be more positive and 4) cook and bake and experiment lots and lots, and document it here, of course.

As for these scones, I made them for the first time a few months ago and for this reason or that, I put off blogging about them.  Probably because I needed to get all those autumn-y recipes out of the way before Christmas.  For some reason, I pictured finally blogging about these scones while it was snowing.  I have no idea why.  And no such luck.

The first time I made them I forgot an ingredient, but they were still delicious.  A few weeks later I made them again, all ingredients included. This recipe is a keeper.  I have some fresh cranberries leftover from our Christmas dinner, so I’ll probably make them yet again.  I loved grabbing one of these for breakfast or an afternoon snack.

Whole-Wheat Cranberry Scones (adapted from this recipe)

  • 1/2 cup fresh cranberries
  • 2 1/2 cups whole-wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 6 tbsp chilled butter, diced
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tsp honey

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. And start with some beautiful, fresh cranberries.

Put the cranberries in a small bowl, stir in the honey and set aside.  Mix the dry ingredients together, then add the chilled butter and mix until the ingredients form coarse crumbs.  Add the milk and vanilla and fold together, but don’t over mix or you’ll have some tough scones! (Also, I cut any overly large cranberries in half.)  Add the berries to the dough and fold in.  If the mixture is too wet and sticky, add a little more flour.

Turn on to a floured surface and divide the dough into two pieces.  Shape each into a circle about 8-9 inches across and around 1/2 inch deep.  Using a sharp knife, slice like a pie four times to create eight triangles.  Repeat with the second half of the dough.

Place the scones on to a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and bake on the middle rack until golden brown on the bottom and top, about 15-20 minutes.

Cool on a rack or in the sheet pan.

I haven’t had too many scones in my lifetime, but these are definitely some of the best I’ve tasted.

They’re pretty healthy too, as far as baked goods go, with the whole-wheat flour and cranberries.

And absolutely perfect with a cup of English Breakfast tea.  I totally wanted to read or watch Harry Potter to complete the British experience!

Happy New Year!  Here’s looking at a year of joy, fulfilled resolutions and tasty treats!

