Tags

, , , ,

In the holiday wake of larger, heavier meals and lots and lots of sugar, my body started craving lighter things.  Fresher things.  Green things.

My mom brought me this wonderful, huge bag of peppery arugula from the garden at her school, which, amazingly enough, anyone can pick from whenever.  I adore basil pesto, but I had to do something with all this arugula.  I got inspired by a kale pesto I found and thought another cool-season green, arugula, would work juuust fine.

Arugula Pesto

  • 5 cups arugula
  • 1/3 cup walnuts (or pine nuts if you’re being fancy)
  • 1/3 cup or more extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • kosher/sea salt and freshly cracked pepper (I used a peppercorn medley)

Whir everything but the olive oil in a food processor or blender until chopped up.  Stream in the olive oil while your machine is running until it all comes together.  You may want to use more or less olive oil depending on what consistency you like your pesto.  Pulse in the Parmesan and season with salt and pepper to taste.

There is so much you can do with pesto.  I had some of mine over pasta with roasted broccoli and cauliflower.

I froze half, so I’ll have to think about what to do with the rest of it.  I was thinking it might be great on a pizza!

