Tags

, , , , ,

I love granola bars (love!) and used to eat Fiber One Chocolate Chip granola bars like they were going out of style.  But now that I’m super strict about eating processed foods, I can’t even remember the last time I ate one.  So I’m loving the fact that I can make my own!  Which I never even thought about.  Usually the idea of making something you could just buy in a box doesn’t sound attractive.  But in this case it’s very easy and totally worth it.

Almond and Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Granola Bars (adapted from Giada De Laurentiis’s recipe)

  • Nonstick cooking spray
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/4 cup almond butter
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1/4 cup chopped peanuts
  • 1/3 cup miniature chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a loaf pan or a square pan (8×8 or 9×9) with nonstick cooking spray and lay a piece of parchment paper inside, allowing the extra paper to hang over the sides.  Spray the parchement paper lightly.

In a medium bowl, beat the egg white until frothy.  Stir in the almond and peanut butters, brown sugar and honey.  Add the melted butter, oats and chopped peanuts.  Stir to combine, and then add the chocolate chips.

Using a rubber spatula, spread the mixture into the pan, pressing lightly to form an even layer.

Bake for about 15 minutes, until the edges begin to brown.  Remove from the oven and let  ’em cool for at least an hour.  Then cut into 1 1/2-inch squares.  I stored them in the fridge. (They got a little sticky when left at room temperature.)

The original recipe had toasted almonds in it, which you can totally do instead of peanuts.  And if you still want peanuts but don’t have them, you can use chunky peanut butter, which was also in the original.  I just had whole peanuts and smooth peanut butter, so I improvised.

To make it a bit healthier, I also did half almond butter and half peanut butter instead of just peanut butter since they both have similar textures.

These were sooo tasty.  They tasted like, well, granola bars.  Minus the omnipresent store-bought taste that all things in a box inevitably have.  I don’t think I’ll feel the temptation to pick up granola bars in a box ever again.

Oh and I’m nearly done reading In Defense of Food, which will further solidify any resolve to never eat processed food, or food-like substances, as Michael Pollan likes to say.

