Tags

,

My eating habits as a kid were pretty out there.  I enjoyed chicken nuggets and french fries every now and then just as much as the next kid.  But I also loved pomegranates, broccoli and lobster. (Not together of course.)  And cabbage.  Even though it made the house smell awful.  Even though the only way I knew to eat it back then was boiled.  Yes, boiled.  I just loved it.  Still do.  But now I’ve wised up and learned new ways to cook it.  Thank goodness, no more boiling!

Sautéed Cabbage

  • 1 small head cabbage (about 2 1/2 pounds)
  • 1 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1 tsp kosher/sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • Flaked sea salt or Fleur de sel (optional)

Cut the cabbage in half and slice it as thinly as possible with the cut side down, as though you’re making coleslaw.  Make sure to get the pretty green leaves on the outside.  Don’t use the core.

Heat the butter and olive oil in a large sauté pan over medium-high heat.  I kept the heat a little closer to medium.  Add the cabbage, salt and pepper, and sauté for 10-15 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the cabbage is tender and begins to brown.

I sprinkled some flaked sea salt over the top just for fun.

It looks kind of Asian, doesn’t it?  I ate it just like this, and I added some to a vegetable curry recipe I got from my bestie.

This is so not the cabbage of my childhood.

