Tags

, , , , , , ,

Despite the fact that “the weather” is the quintessential “small talk” topic, I am such a weather nerd.  I’m a bit obsessed really.  I check the weather multiple times a day and in different places, just to see what’s going on, you know?

So here in North Carolina, it’s been feeling more like autumn or spring, with a few cold, winter-like days here and there, and absolutely, positively no snow.  It’s tricking me into thinking it’s time for asparagus, cherries, morels and peas, and I already have flickers of recipe ideas swirling around in my mind.  But, alas, we still have winter for almost a solid two months.  It’s such a tease.  If it were early March or even late February, I could accept this identity crisis the weather’s been having.  I mean, if it’s going to be cold on those odd days at least give me some snow!  Even a flurry would suffice.  Or give me spring and flowers and some warm-cool weather and new food to work with.

Ok, weather rant over.  I must embrace this fickle friend winter while it’s here.  Because come summer, I’ll wish for it once again.

You don’t so much need an exact recipe for roasting winter vegetables, or any vegetables, for that matter.  You can use any you like and any herbs you want.  I roast potatoes, carrots and onions all the time, but for something a little different I added some parsnips and some awesome purple sweet potatoes.

Roasted Winter Vegetables

  • 1 large white or yellow potato
  • 1 large purple sweet potato
  • 2 medium carrots
  • 2 medium parsnips
  • 1/2 onion
  • 4 sprigs thyme
  • extra-virgin olive oil
  • salt and pepper

Scrub the potatoes and dice into 1-inch pieces.  Chop the onion, and cut the carrots and parsnips into 1-inch pieces.  Put all the veggies on a baking sheet, drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt, pepper and the thyme leaves.  Roast on 400-425 degrees for about 25 minutes, until the veggies start to brown slightly.

Before…

…and after!

The parsnips were mild and slightly sweet.  I really liked the purple sweet potatoes, which were new to me.  They tasted milder and less sweet than regular sweet potatoes, but oddly had a very small hint of cinnamon flavor.

I do have my apple cinnamon jelly to keep me company until the warm weather comes around, that is if it lasts that long!

And watch out for more winter vegetable recipes coming this week!

