Tags

, , , ,

I’m not feeling particularly wordy today, so I’ll keep it nice and short.

I know this concoction looks kind of like baby food, but it’s really good.  Trust me.  The process is a lot like making a pureed soup, but just with a little less stock so it’s thick.  Think thin mashed potatoes or thick soup.

Sweet Potato Carrot Puree (adapted from Giada’s recipe)

  • 1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 pounds carrots, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 2 pounds sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 3/4-inch pieces
  • 1 tsp kosher/sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 2 1/2 cups water

In a saucepan or Dutch oven, heat the olive oil over medium-high heat.  Add the onions and cook for about 5 minutes.  Add the garlic and cook one more minute, until it starts to smell amazing and garlicky.

Add the carrots, potatoes, salt and pepper, and cook for about 5 minutes until slightly softened.

Add the water and stock and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for about 25 minutes, until the carrots are tender.

Remove 2 cups of the liquid with a ladle and reserve.  Puree the mixture in a food processor or blender or with an immersion blender until slightly chunky, adding some of the reserved liquid as needed.

Season with more salt and pepper to taste.

I’m not a big fan of mashed sweet potatoes, unless there’s some turkey and cranberry sauce on my plate.  I think it’s my slight aversion to sweet foods (note: foods, not desserts).  But add some garlic to sweet potatoes (and carrots) to make them savory, and I’m on board.

