Tags

, ,

In keeping with the winter vegetable theme of this week, I give you another cabbage recipe.  I know these veggie posts are not quite as flashy, but sometimes you need new ways to cook the usual suspects.  Or to be introduced to vegetables you don’t use that often. (I know we can’t all be the cabbage loving fool that I am.)

I found this Martha Stewart recipe on Pinterest, one of the greatest and most addicting sites ever.  Given my latest roasting fetish, I’m surprised I never thought about roasting cabbage.  Now it seems like a no brainer.

Roasted Cabbage Wedges (recipe from Martha Stewart)

  • 1 medium head green cabbage, cut into 1-inch-thick rounds
  • 3 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • Coarse kosher/sea salt and ground black pepper
  • 1 tsp caraway or fennel seeds (optional)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Brush a rimmed baking sheet with 1 tbsp of the olive oil.  Place the rounds of cabbage on the sheet and brush with the rest of the oil.  Season with the salt, pepper and seeds (I chose to omit the seeds – caraway and fennel are not my favorite flavors.)

Roast for 40-45 minutes, until the cabbage is tender and the edges are golden.

My edges were a little burned.  Whoops-a-daisy (channeling my inner Hugh Grant.)  But since there’s like a million layers, it’s easy enough to remove the bottom burned layer.

Isn’t it pretty?  By cutting the cabbage into rounds, the layers open up in the oven and come out looking like big flowers.  This is my new and absolute favorite way to eat cabbage.

Oh and Martha says these wedges taste great with roasted beef or pork.  Hey, if Martha says…

