Tags

, , ,

So these days I’m trying to limit, and possibly cut out altogether, my intake of cow’s milk products and switch to goat’s milk products because goat’s milk is easier for us to digest.  This is pretty easy when it comes to milk itself, which I practically never use, but much harder when it comes to Greek yogurt and cheese.  I’m bummed about the yogurt, but I can live without it.  However, I’m downright depressed about the cheese.  I love strong, bold, stinky cheeses…it’s my weakness.  I am excited to sample and experiment with different goat cheeses though.  I just got a goat gouda that’s quite tasty.  But since I have most cheese pretty rarely, I’m thinking that having a little cow’s milk cheese on special occasions will probably be ok.

Anyway enough with the cheese talk.  I really wanted to try almond milk as a substitute for cow’s milk.  I’ve heard good things about it and recently heard how easy it is to make.  And remember the almond butter?  I’ve been going almond crazy lately!

Homemade Almond Milk

*This is another time when you don’t really need an exact recipe.  I used 1 part almonds, 2 parts water, and the consistency was that of skim milk.  If you want the milk thicker like whole or 2% you can even out the ratio of almonds to water as needed or desired.


Put the almonds in a jar or container, cover with water and soak overnight. Drain and rinse them the next day.

Put 1 cup of almonds and 2 cups of water in the food processor and blend until smooth.  Place a cheesecloth over a large bowl and pour the almond milk into the cloth.  Pick up the cloth full of almond meal and squeeze, squeeze, squeeze until you get all the milk out.

At this point, you can leave your milk as it is, or you can add some honey to sweeten it (as I did) and/or vanilla to flavor it (as I didn’t).  I added about 2 teaspoons of raw honey.  And-you-are-done.

Pour into a container and refrigerate.  Give it a shake before you use it.

I was seriously so surprised how easy this was to make.

And Happy Leap Day!  Four years ago, some of my college roommates and I threw a Leap Day party where everyone had to come dressed to represent a holiday.  We had everything from New Year’s to Canada Day to Palm Sunday.  And all our food represented different holidays of course.  We had green apple cider as a Christmas/St.Patrick’s Day fusion, pigs in a blanket for the Fourth of July, chips and salsa for Cinco de Mayo, fortune cookies for Chinese New Year, potato latkes for Hanukkah (or Chanukkah), turkey and stuffing rolls for Thanksgiving and a cheese ball for Christmas.  We also had birthday cupcakes and Christmas/Halloween/Valentine’s Day cookies.  It was such a blast.  Here are a few pictures from the night.

Here’s a roomie picture.  From left to right, we are Christmas, Thanksgiving, Mother’s Day and Cinco de Mayo.  Oh college days, I really miss you sometimes!

