Tags

, ,

Since the day I made biscotti for the first time, I’ve had it in the back of my mind to make a chocolate variety.  The day has come.

So I’ve been keeping dark chocolate around because it’s easy to digest and fits in with all the detox stuff, plus it gives me my chocolate/sweet fix without eating anything I shouldn’t.  The first time around I got a 72 percent cacao.  Then next time I decided to up it a little to 85 percent to see if I liked it.  A little too bitter for my taste I have to say.  But I didn’t want to waste practically a whole bar of chocolate, so into the biscotti it went!

Double Chocolate Almond Biscotti

  • 2/3 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tbsp instant coffee grounds
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chunks (I chopped up a bar of chocolate, but you can also use chocolate chips)
  • 1/4 cup chopped almonds

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees, and lightly spray a baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray.  (I actually forgot to spray my sheet and, of course, the biscotti stuck to it and was harder to slice later.  A smack your forehead kind of moment.)

Mix the dry ingredients together with an electric mixer.  Add the eggs and vanilla and beat until it’s just combined.  Add the chopped chocolate and almonds, and stir to evenly distribute.

Transfer the dough to the baking sheet and form into a flattened log.  Bake for 30 minutes.

Remove from the oven, cool and cut into slices.  Lay the slices on their sides and return to a 200-degree oven to dry to your liking.  Flip once or twice during the drying process.  I let mine go for another 30 minutes.

I just love to dunk these babies in my tea!

