Tags

, , , ,

If you’ve never checked out the blog Dinner: A Love Story, or DALS as it’s affectionately/quickly referred to on the site, you really need to scoot on over there sometime.  She, and sometimes her husband, write candidly and hilariously about food, mostly dinner, and how it ties into their lives, marriage and their little picky eaters.  Each witty post is seriously like a Seinfeld episode in blog form. (Did you ever notice how…?) She works part time writing and editing for books, magazines and blogs (she used to edit food and features for Bon Appetit, Martha Stewart Living, Cookie and Real Simple; he’s a book editor; and they co-write a column for Bon Appetit called “The Providers.”  Basically, they’re my heroes.

At the end of February, she posted an easy gluten-free menu, and the sweet and sticky chicken caught my eye, not because I was specifically looking for something gluten free but because I hadn’t posted any chicken recipes thus far. And I attempted to make it without a picture.  This is a rare occurrence for me.  It’s funny though, later I could have sworn there had been a picture of the chicken because in my head I thought I knew exactly what it should look like.  But I checked, and sure enough there was no picture.  I must have made it up in my own mind…I do that quite a lot.  Despite the lack of reference as to what it should look like, the recipe turned out to be both amazing and amazingly simple.

Sweet and Sticky Chicken (adapted from the blog Dinner: A Love Story)

  • 1 pound chicken pieces (I used thighs)
  • 1/2 cup gluten-free soy sauce or Tamari
  • 1/4 cup pomegranate juice
  • 1/4 cup sugar

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Arrange the chicken pieces in an even layer in a baking dish or roasting pan.  Combine the soy sauce, pomegranate juice and sugar in a small saucepan and heat over low heat, and stir until the sugar dissolves.  Pour the mixture over the chicken and bake for 45 minutes.  Turn the pieces over and bake for about 20 minutes longer, until the sauce is thick and sticky. (The original recipe said to bake it for about another hour, but I found that 20 minutes was definitely enough time.  Any longer and they would have burned.)  Keep a close eye on it so it doesn’t get too charred.

I put some parsley on top just for the photo to make it look prettier than a pile of meat, which, incidentally, is just what it is.  So you certainly don’t have to do that.  Scallions would actually be really nice scattered on top too.

This chicken is smoky and just slightly sweet, not too sweet, and has an Asian element of flavor with the soy sauce.  And a little bit sticky of course.  It’s really delicious and more satisfying than lots of other chicken recipes I’ve tried, and it’s a great recipe to have in the we’re-having-chicken-again-for-dinner repertoire.

