Tags

, , , , , ,

Happy Spring!

We’re finally out of that dark hole called February and the weird schizophrenic weather in between winter and spring.  As I live and type, birds are chirping, flowers and plants are coming back to life and it’s a warm and breezy 80 degrees.

I’ve been having a salad every day for lunch and it feels pretty wonderful; it’s all part of my plan to eat more raw foods and it’s finally warm enough to really enjoy a nice, cold salad.  I’ve also been experimenting with making my own vinaigrettes to dress said salads, and they’ve proved much more delicious than any bottled variety.  This Dijon vinaigrette is my favorite thus far, and combined with a big garden salad this combo has become my go-to lunch.

Garden Salad with Dijon Vinaigrette

For the salad:

  • 1 1/2 cups romaine lettuce
  • 1/2 cup spinach leaves
  • 1/2 cup kale leaves
  • 1 carrot, peeled and chopped
  • 1 small tomato, diced
  • A few cucumber slices, left whole or diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced (optional)

*You can actually throw anything you want into the salad; this is just what I decided to put in.

For the vinaigrette:

  • 1 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 2 tsp champagne or white wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp Stevia or raw honey
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil

*This makes enough vinaigrette for about 2 big salads or 4 smaller salads.

To make the vinaigrette, put the Dijon, vinegar and Stevia or honey into a food processor.  Turn it on and while it’s running, slowly stream in the olive oil.  You can also do this with a small bowl and a whisk.  Store in an airtight container in the fridge.

This stuff is so good I could drink it.  It’s like liquid gold for your stomach…that barely makes sense but try it and you’ll see!

The salad with the liquid gold is so satisfying.  It will take a very long time for me to get tired of this lunch.

And p.s. The Hunger Games movie is out this week!  Eek!  The trailer gives me goosebumps!

