Tags

, , , , ,

Yes, baked eggs.  Baked!  Is that even a thing?  I’d never heard of such a cooking method for eggs until I read through my Barefoot in Paris cookbook I got for Christmas.  You know when you see a picture* and you can just tell at first glance that the food is delicious?  I got such a feeling looking at these eggs, which is curious because I’m not a big “egg person” per se.  I either have to be in the mood or there needs to be something special about them (i.e. being in a quiche or sprinkling a little Parmesan on the scrambled variety.)  I’m picky and these eggs did it for me.  And for looking and tasting so special, they are by far the easiest eggs I’ve ever made.  Total win-win.

*The picture I am referring to is most definitely Ina’s picture of the eggs.  Regrettably, my photos are still rather amateur.

Herbed-Baked Eggs (adapted from the Barefoot in Paris cookbook)

For one serving

  • 1/8 tsp minced fresh garlic
  • 1/8 tsp minced fresh thyme leaves
  • 1/8 tsp minced fresh rosemary leaves
  • 1/2 tbsp minced fresh parsley
  • 3 extra large eggs
  • 1/2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • Kosher/sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

Preheat the broiler for 5 minutes and place the oven rack 6 inches below the heat.

Combine the garlic and herbs in a small bowl and set aside.  Carefully crack 3 eggs into another small bowl (you won’t be baking them in this bowl) without breaking the yolks.  It’s very important to have all the eggs ready to go before you start cooking.

Put the butter in an individual gratin dish and place on a baking sheet.  Put it under the broiler for about 2-3 minutes, until the butter is hot and bubbly.  Quickly and carefully pour the eggs into the gratin dish and sprinkle evenly with the garlic and herb mixture and salt and pepper.

Place it back under the broiler for 5-6 minutes, until the whites of the eggs are almost cooked.  Rotate the baking sheet if the eggs aren’t cooking evenly.  The eggs will continue to cook after you take them out of the oven.  Allow them to set for a minute before serving.

Ina’s recipe also called for heavy cream to be put in with the butter and Parmesan to be in with the garlic and herb mixture, but I omitted them.

These eggs are bonkers.  Bonkers being a good thing.  They are so good, and they tasted even better than I thought they would, especially when you get a forkful with the garlic in it.

I apologize for the slightly yellowish quality of my pictures.  I had these eggs for dinner, so there wasn’t much light left when I took the photos.  Nevertheless, I am happy to report that these are definitely dinner-worthy eggs!

