Tags

, , , ,

I made these quesadillas a few weeks ago, before I really started cracking down on this food combining business.  And so because cheese and grains aren’t to be combined, I probably won’t be making these exact quesadillas again.  But I still wanted to share the recipe and not let it go to waste.

I always have lots of spinach around, and I still had some mushrooms and goat cheese to use up.  And some tortillas from taco night.  If you have tortillas for any reason, you can throw just about anything in there and make quesadillas.

Spinach, Mushroom and Goat Cheese Quesadillas

  • 2 tortillas (I used gluten-free)
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped mushrooms (I used baby bellas)
  • 1 1/2 cups spinach leaves
  • 1-2 oz. goat cheese
  • extra-virgin olive oil
  • chopped red onion and parsley (optional)

Put a little olive oil in a large pan and heat it over medium heat.  Place a tortilla in the pan and pile in the mushrooms, spinach and goat cheese.  I put in as much spinach and mushrooms I could fit because it cooks down a lot.

Place another tortilla on top and brush with a bit more olive oil.  Gently lift the bottom tortilla every few minutes to see how it’s browning.  When it’s just starting to brown (mine took somewhere around 5-10 minutes) carefully flip the whole thing over and cook for another 5-10 minutes.

Transfer the quesadilla to a cutting board and use a pizza cutter or very sharp knife to cut into four pieces.

Then chop up some red onion and parsley for garnish and color.  Garnish is optional of course, but it really adds a wonderful freshness.

I just love the warm combination on the inside with the fresh bite of red onion and parsley on the outside.

And I’m more than a little obsessed with mushrooms these days.  They’ve been replacing meat for me a lot lately.  Mushrooms filling and hearty, the perfect meat substitute.

