Tags

, , , , , ,

I had an incredibly lucky weekend, food-wise that is.  First, I found honey that is both raw and local, a nearly impossible feat.  Up until recently my favorite honey was local mountain honey from my farmers’ market.  When I learned that anything raw is more easily digested, I tried out some raw honey.  I liked it, but it did nothing for my allergies, which have been plaguing me since the beginning of March. (And it’s totally not a myth that local honey helps with allergies.)  So I was in quite the pickle until I randomly saw a local mountain raw honey at the grocery store: a ginormous jar of it was on sale.  Every once in a blue moon all the pieces of my life fall into place.

I got new herb plants (I added basil and chives to the usual suspects this year) and some Begonias and Forget-me-nots for my little potted garden.  Potting and tending plants and flowers is such a zen experience.  And seeing some of my old plants, which I thought had died, come back to life in the spring was truly incredible.

And I finally found the Ezekiel Bread I’d been trying to find for weeks.  Which inspired this bruschetta.

Sprouted Whole-Grain Bruschetta

  • 2 pieces original Ezekiel Bread
  • 1 cup grape tomatoes, cut in half (or any tomatoes you like)
  • 1/2 clove garlic
  • A few basil leaves
  • 1/2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • Kosher/sea salt and pepper

Start by toasting your bread.  While it’s toasting, halve and clean out your tomatoes (or dice if you’re using larger tomatoes), mince the garlic, and stack your basil leaves, roll them up and chiffonade into ribbons.  Combine them together in a bowl and add the olive oil and salt and pepper to taste.  While the toast is still hot, rub a halved garlic clove over the surface.  The tiny nooks and crannies will soak up that garlic flavor.  Cut into triangles and spoon the tomato mixture on top.

Being fresh and bright, this is the perfect afternoon snack or lunch accompaniment.  And you get the best of both worlds from this sprouted whole-grain bread; you get to add something filling and hearty to a meal without adding refined flour, which most breads have, and without adding meat.

It’s wonderfully colorful, fresh and flavorful.  And so quick.  I think it took me about 5-10 minutes from start to shoving it in my mouth finish.

