Tags

, , ,

Happy Easter!  I will dispense with the pleasantries today and get right to it.  I love exploring new ways to make and eat vegetables, and with trying to properly combine food, that becomes especially difficult.  But here is success story number one.

Zucchini and Carrot Fritters

  • 1 zucchini, grated
  • 2 medium carrots, grated
  • 1 tbsp chopped red onion
  • 2 tbsp green onions (scallions), white and green parts
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 tsp kosher/sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper

I know I have three carrots in the picture, but I only ended up needing two.  This was my first time grating vegetables after all.

After grating the zucchini and carrots, squeeze out as much water as you can.  I just squeezed it all out over the sink one handful at a time.  You could use paper towels as well.  Put the grated vegetables and chopped onions in a bowl.

Add the egg and salt and pepper and mix it all thoroughly.  If it still seems too watery, you can carefully drain out as much liquid as you can.

Put just a little bit of butter, about  1/4 of a tablespoon, in a nonstick pan and melt over medium heat.  (By the way, I got this dandy new nonstick pan that I first heard about here that’s supposedly one of the best nontoxic, Teflon-free pans.  I thought you could only order in online, but I found them at Bed, Bath and Beyond.) Spoon about two tablespoonfuls of the mixture into the pan for each fritter. Cook until it’s brown on the bottom, about five minutes or so, and flip over.  Wipe the pan down and add a bit more butter for each batch since the butter from the previous batch will start to burn.  The recipe will make about 10 small fritters.

Grating the vegetables takes the longest, but the process is incredibly easy.  Especially for a first-time project.

And the flavor was really good.  I had no idea what to expect from these guys, but I was pleasantly surprised.  I can’t really describe the taste so much, but they were definitely better than just plain carrots and zucchini.  I think the two types of onions bumped up the flavor.

I might have to experiment with some different combinations next time; maybe different vegetables or spices.  Adding some garlic flavor might be really good.

In other news, I finally saw the Hunger Games. (I’ve never really been one to face the midnight crowds.)  I loved it, of course.  I thought it was well done and except for a few minor things, it kept to the integrity of the book.  And I cried.  Twice.  I can’t wait for Catching Fire!

