Tags

, , , ,

I have found it.  My favorite, and the easiest, vinaigrette-making method in the world.  Not that making a vinaigrette is akin to making something like a soufflé.  But all the same, I think it’s fabulous.

A jar is all you need.  No bowl, no whisk, no food processor, no blender.  After shaking all the ingredients, the vinaigrette is already in its storage container.  I love that.  No extra dishes or utensils or appliances getting messy.

The vinaigrette itself is great too.  I found it on the blog Dinner: A Love Story, which is full of practical meal ideas.  It’s very tasty…and has such a great name.

Money in the Bank Vinaigrette (recipe adapted from DALS)

  • 1 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 4 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp raw honey
  • A squeeze of fresh lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp kosher/sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • Chopped herbs (chives, parsley, dill, thyme, etc. – I used parsley and thyme for this recipe)
  • 1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil

*Note: if you use a more delicate herb like parsley or dill, try to use all the vinaigrette within 2-3 days or it will get grossly soggy in the liquid.

Shortest instructions ever: Put everything in a jar and shake vigorously.

Jenny from DALS suggests drizzling it over cold asparagus or warm potatoes in addition to green and grain salads.

I’ve made this a few times with different herbs since I found the recipe.  I used parsley every time because I like the freshness it adds.  I also liked thyme and chives, but next time I’d like to give dill a try.

It has a nice bite to it from the mustard, vinegar and lemon juice.  The thyme perfumes the vinaigrette and together with the parsley adds wonderful flavor and earthiness.