Tags

, ,

I started to get an itch to make something English inspired.  That just happens to me now and again, being the Anglophile that I am.  Plus my Kitchen Aid was collecting dust from lack of use.  And then…

Sunday was William and Kate’s first anniversary, and I was even more excited to make something English-ish.  You must believe me when I say that I am not the type to be gaga (that’s the official term) over celebrities.  Trust me, if it’s not on CNN I probably don’t know about it.  I’m a self-proclaimed news snob.  But since their fairy tale of a wedding last year, I’ve found them so fascinating.

So on Sunday I watched the replay of their wedding, cried again and was absolutely gaga (again) that from the church bells to Prince William’s wedding attire, everything was just like the Disney movies…and once again realized that, duh, the movies are based on real life, not the other way around.  And I made these cupcakes.

Lady Grey Cupcakes with Citrus Glaze

Makes 6 cupcakes

For the cupcakes:

  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour (I used an unbleached variety)
  • 1/4 cup almond flour (recipe below)
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • Pinch of kosher/sea salt
  • Contents of 1 bag of Lady Grey tea
  • 1/4 cup almond milk (homemade recipe here)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

For the glaze:

  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/2 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/2 tablespoon freshly squeezed orange juice
  • Lemon and orange zest, for garnish (optional)

For the almond flour: place 1/3 cup of raw almonds in a food processor and whir around for about a minute or so, until the almonds are broken up finely.

Place the ground almonds in a sieve over a bowl and sift.  Whatever is left in the sieve, put back in the processor, whir them again and sift them again.  And that’s your almond flour. (You can remove the skins before grinding up the almonds if you don’t want brown flecks in the flour.)

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.  Cream together the butter, flour, sugar, baking powder and soda, salt and tea leaves. See the flecks of tea?

In another bowl, whisk the milk, egg and vanilla together.  Pour half the milk mixture into the dry ingredients while mixing on medium speed.  Beat until it’s just incorporated and then add the rest of the wet ingredients.  Beat until well blended. The batter will be gritty from the almond flour and very thin.

Fill greased or paper-lined muffin pan cups halfway.  Bake for 15-20 minutes.

To make the glaze, just whisk the lemon and orange juices into the confectioners’ sugar and spread on the cupcake tops.

And add some zest if you wish.

Lady Grey tea, which is one of my faves, has citrus notes in it, so I thought a citrus glaze would complement that nicely.

I seriously had no idea how these would turn out, never having used tea to make cupcakes before, or anything else for that matter.  They were pretty tasty and like nothing else I’ve ever had before.  You can definitely taste the tea; it gives it a bit of a kick.  And they’re not very sweet at all, which I like.  They’re not your typical dessert cupcake; they would be great tea cakes.

And back to William and Kate: can you imagine 2 BILLION people watching your wedding?!  Or having that day be declared a national holiday?  Wild.

On another note, but still English related, I absolutely cannot wait for the summer games in London!  I love, love, love the Olympics.  Between that and the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee, this summer is full of wonderful Englishness!

Cheers!  And God Save the Queen!

