Tags

, , , , , ,

I found this recipe on the blog Joy the Baker completely by accident.  I wasn’t looking for it.  But it’s perfect because it’s so few ingredients, plus I still had some farro to use up.  And since I used it in a soup last time, I thought I’d try it in a grain salad this time.

Roasted Tomato and Caramelized Onion Farro Salad (adapted from Joy the Baker)

  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes
  • 1/2 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher/sea salt
  • 1 medium yellow onion, sliced
  • 1/2 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 tablespoon butter
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher/sea salt
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 cup farro
  • 1/2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons coarsely chopped parsley

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Place the tomatoes on a baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt.  Bake for 15 minutes, until some tomatoes burst and start to turn golden brown.  Remove from the oven and set aside to cool slightly.

Place the 1/2 tablespoons of olive oil and butter in a large sauce pan and heat over medium heat.  Add the sliced onions and toss to coat them.  Allow the onions to cook down for 5 minutes without stirring.  Toss after 5 minutes, then allow them to cook for another 5 minutes without being disturbed.  Add salt and toss.  The onions will begin to brown and break down.  Remove from the heat, stand back and add the balsamic vinegar.  Toss to coat all the onions and return to heat to continue cooking until they’re all browned, broken down and smelling heavenly.

Bring 2 cups of water to a boil in a pot and add a pinch of salt.  Add the farro and stir.  Cook until it’s softened through but still has a light al dente bite to it, about 15-20 minutes.  Drain in a strainer, return to the pot and toss with a 1/2 tablespoon of olive oil.

Add the roasted tomatoes, caramelized onions and chopped parsley.  Toss and serve warm.  Store in an airtight container in the fridge for up to 4 days.

I hear that it’s made even better by adding Parmesan, but sadly I wouldn’t know anything about that.

This stuff is seriously good.  It’s such an interesting melding of flavors, and they just go.  The caramelized onions are my favorite.

On a side note, Joy’s blog is such fun to read.  She’s quirky and hilarious and always has the best pictures of her food.  Even the food I know I wouldn’t like looks so beautiful in her photos that my brain almost fools me into drooling.  And she just had her first cookbook published!

 

