Tags

, , , , ,

I have to admit I’m in sort of a blogging funk.  As of late I’ve just had no idea what to say on this here blog.  Maybe any of you fellow bloggers can relate.  Sometimes, well, a lot of the time actually, I talk about the weather. (It’s just been so darn strange this year.) Most of the time I talk about how I decided to make whatever recipe I happen to be featuring at the time.  Sometimes I make a plug for the seasonal/local/non-processed food lifestyle.  Sometimes I’m practically whistling (that being just a figure of speech since I can’t actually whistle) while typing because I’m so happy with whatever I’m blogging about.  And then there are times when I’m typing one letter at a time hoping inspiration will come, and I just end up presenting my recipe without any remarks, opinions or watered-down diatribes on my part.

So I don’t know, we’ll see what this funk will produce in future posts.  I might have to put my thinking cap on and think of more creative ways of writing my posts.  Because the last thing I want is for people to be bored reading this blog – it makes the food seem less interesting in my experience.  What I want even less is for me to be bored writing them!

I found this recipe on Pinterest, where I practically get my mail delivered.  It is one of the best sites to find great food ideas, or any great idea really.  If there is a delicious, unique or gorgeous recipe out in cyberspace, someone will inevitably pin it.  And thus, we have a treasure trove on the ever expanding, virtual bulletin board we call Pinterest.

Creamy Avocado Lemon Pasta (adapted from the blog Oh She Glows)

Makes 2 servings

  • 1 medium ripe avocado, pitted
  • Juice from 1 lemon
  • Zest from 1/2 lemon
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher/sea salt
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 servings/6 oz. dried pasta (I used spaghetti)
  • Freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Cook your pasta according to its instructions, preferably to al dente.  Meanwhile, place the garlic cloves, lemon juice and olive oil in a food processor and process until smooth.  Add the avocado, basil and salt.  Process until smooth and creamy.

Drain the cooked pasta and return to the pot or put in a large bowl.  Pour the sauce over the top and toss to fully combine.  Garnish with black pepper and lemon zest.

This is, like, lightning bolt quick.

A caveat: you want to serve this immediately (and eat all of it!) because it will not reheat well with the avocado in it.

I’m still amazed how avocado makes everything so creamy, without actually adding any cream or dairy.  I knew this was the case with smoothies, and now I have proof of the same phenomenon with pasta.

The creamy avocado (which you can’t really taste by the way), the tart lemon and the fresh basil is a pleasing combination.  Eating this was one of those experiences where you love every bite and are so sad when it’s gone.  It’s all the indulgence of a creamy dish with none of the bad stuff.  Cha-ching!

