Tags

, , , ,

I don’t know if it’s the basil or the honey or the fact that I made it on a miserably hot day, but this stuff is seriously good.  It’s the best lemonade I’ve ever had, and I’ve never really loved lemonade.  I’m actually sipping on it now as I speak (well, type) and it’s perfection.  It’s all about the lovely combination of lemons, sugar, honey and basil.

Basil Lemonade

Makes about 2 1/2 quarts

  • 1/2 cup honey (I used clover because it’s light)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 cup fresh basil
  • 2 cups freshly squeezed lemon juice, about 6-8 large lemons
  • 4-6 cups more water, depending on how tart or sweet you like your lemonade

Combine the honey, sugar and 2 cups of water in a saucepan and bring to a boil.  Remove from the heat and add the basil.  Let it steep and come to room temperature.

Juice enough lemons to make 2 cups of lemon juice.  I strained the pulp out, but if you like a little pulp in your lemonade you can leave it in.

When the syrup is cool, combine it with the lemon juice in a pitcher or carafe.  Add 4-6 cups of water depending on how sweet or tart you prefer your lemonade.  I like mine somewhere in the middle, leaning toward tart, so I added about 4 1/2 cups.  Julienne some basil and slice a lemon to garnish, if you so desire, and pour over ice.

And this is my first beverage post on the blog!  I’m so excited to post more this summer.  I have lots of mason jars and cute, stripey straws all ready to go.

Summer motto: Keep calm and drink a fun, icy drink.

