Tags

, , , ,

All this trying to eat healthy – no processed foods, no refined flour, more raw foods and properly combining what I eat – means saying no to a lot of things.  And I really am ok with that 95-ish percent of the time.  It’s really not that hard when I consider how much better I feel when I eat the good stuff.  But every once in a while, an inexplicable craving strikes, and gosh darn it if I don’t give in if I have the opportunity.

Alas, such an occurrence happened yesterday.  We were driving around an area I happened to know had an Einstein’s Bagels, and there are very few bagel joints around these parts.  I got a serious a craving for a whole-wheat bagel with honey butter, a delicacy I hadn’t had in roughly 7 years.  Bagel shops and wonderful deli places are on every corner in South Florida.  In fact, just before I moved down there from a smaller town on the west coast, my Jewish elementary school art teacher said I was lucky because Fort Lauderdale had lots of great bagel shops.  That meant nothing to me at age 10, but only later would I realize you can’t get a good bagel just anywhere.  (Hint: if it’s a Jewish or New York deli, you’re pretty much guaranteed a good bagel.) They had Einstein’s in the town where I went to college, but somehow they never had honey butter.  Madness.  So I had to settle for strawberry schmear.  Needless to say, I gave in yesterday.  It wasn’t exactly the same, but close enough.  It’s interesting how something that used to be somewhat of a staple in my life is now such a novelty.  Life is funny.

Whew.  I applaud you if you had the patience to read through my ode to a good bagel!

Onto the cauliflower couscous…all I can really say is that this is a brilliant beyond brilliant idea, especially if you eat a grain-free or grain-limited diet.

Cauliflower Couscous (from the blog Roost)

  • 1 head of cauliflower
  • 1 cup diced yellow onion (about 1/2 of an onion)
  • 2 cups grape tomatoes, halved
  • 3/4 cup basil, chopped
  • 3/4 cup Italian parsley, chopped
  • 1/2 tablespoon lemon zest
  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 tablespoon ghee or butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • freshly ground pepper

Cut the cauliflower into small chunks (stalk discarded) and place in a food processor.  Pulse until it resembles small grains of rice or couscous. (It’s amazing how much it really does look like couscous!) Set aside.

Heat ghee or butter in a dutch oven or large pot over medium heat.  Add diced onion and cook until translucent, about two minutes.

Add tomatoes and cook for 5 minutes.  Turn heat off and add cauliflower, herbs, lemon zest, lemon juice, salt and pepper.  Stir until everything is combined.  Place lid on pot and set aside.

Here again is another fresh, bright, (nearly) raw summer dish.  It’s a nice complement to chicken or fish.  By the way, doesn’t Caitlin’s pan-roasted red snapper with that aioli look delicious with the couscous?!  I’ll have to attempt that sometime.

I have no office pictures this time.  We finished painting the chair, but my pictures didn’t turn out too well.  And we haven’t put up the curtains we were going to frame the window with behind the chair, so I figured I’d wait until that whole little corner was done.

And we are almost finished framing everything.  So. Exciting.

