Tags

, , , , ,

I haven’t had an office update in quite some time, so here it is.  We’re more or less finished.  The walls are painted, chairs have been redone, curtains are up (the most beautiful white curtains – $20 for two panels at IKEA, people!), the gallery wall is complete, and we found an awesome sunburst mirror (I just love those) to go over the roll top.  Oh yeah, did I mention my parents have an incredible roll top desk?  It’s beautiful and so classic.  I love it.  As kids, my brother and I did what anyone would do with a roll top…climbed in, shut each other inside and pretended it was a time machine.  Naturally.

I came across this recipe and tried it out for the first time last month actually and just got around to blogging about it.  It’s as easy and summer-y as it gets.  While tomatoes are at their peak, now is the time to eat them before fall comes.  Which, by the way, I am so incredibly ready for.  Sweaters, boots, football, all things pumpkin…ahhh!  I’m still completely enamored with getting a real autumn since moving to North Carolina.  But before we get ahead of ourselves, let us enjoy sweet, bright summer produce before it goes into hibernation for another year.

Tomato Toast with Basil Butter (from the blog Not Without Salt)

  • 1 tablespoon fresh basil, chopped
  • 4 tablespoons butter, softened
  • toasted bread
  • tomato slices, thickly cut
  • sea salt and pepper

In a small bowl, combine the basil and softened butter.  Spread on top of warm toast.  Top with tomato slices and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Basil butter might be one of the best things on the planet.

Ok, so green tomatoes are so much firmer than red or yellow tomatoes!  This particular one was almost like biting into an apple.  I guess that’s why it’s green tomatoes that are always fried.  Major light bulb.

And for your viewing pleasure:

We painted this chair and the lamp shade.  I love the graphic, tribal-looking rug we found for a whopping $17.  We really loved this rug and I liked this one, but they were too big and expensive.  Look how amazing the black and white stripes look on the floor here!  It’s a shame the white curtains aren’t showing up because of all the light, but trust me, they’re perfect.  And we made a “side table” out of stacked books.

The roll top.

I’m so happy we found a sunburst mirror to go over the desk.  It’s just what I pictured.

I imagined more thin, gold frames in the gallery wall, but overall I’m happy with the way it turned out.  We can always add to it in the future.

We put this long, black table in the office for my mom to have a workspace where she can do scrapbooking or schoolwork instead of using the dining room table.  We reupholstered the seat of the chair on the right with chevron fabric and painted the back grey.  As you can see, we still have to do the other chair.

The desktop computer is on the desk opposite the roll top (yes, there are three desk/tables in the room).  We’ll probably replace that lampshade with a white one.  We thrifted an awesome gold-framed mirror and replaced the mirror with poster board and chalkboard paint to go above the computer, adorned with my mom’s favorite quote these days.  She thinks it’s so funny.

