Tags

, ,

A more accurate title would be End of Summer/Beginning of Fall Minestrone, but oh my what a mouth full.  Today was the perfect day to make soup.  With a hint of crispness in the air, I threw open the windows to tempt the cool breeze, grabbed the last of the summer produce and set to work making soup once again.  It’s officially fall for me when there’s a big pot of soup simmering on the stove. (The unofficial start being when football season is back.) This recipe, which I found on the wonderful blog The Little Red House, is great for transitioning from the bright produce of summer to that of the more muted, earthy produce of autumn.

End of Summer Minestrone (adapted from The Little Red House)

  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 3 carrots, diced
  • 4 small potatoes, diced
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 large tomatoes, diced
  • 1 zucchini, sliced
  • 1 summer squash, sliced
  • 2 cups beans (I used pinto)
  • 4-5 cups chicken or vegetable stock
  • handful of any combination of herbs (I used fresh parsley and basil and a pinch of dried marjoram)
  • splash of balsamic vinegar
  • salt and pepper to taste

In a large pot, sauté the onion, carrots and potatoes in a little olive oil until the onions are tender.  Add the tomatoes and garlic and cook for a few more minutes.

Add a splash of balsamic vinegar and the stock, beans and herbs.  Bring to a low boil and then lower the heat to a simmer.

Simmer all afternoon or just until the potatoes and carrots are tender.  Add the zucchini and squash during the last 15-20 minutes of cooking so they don’t get mushy.

Embellish with any toppings you’d like.  More herbs, goat cheese, a side of crusty bread…go to town!

I haven’t blogged in a while because I’ve been getting ready for probably the biggest and craziest thing I’ve done in my life thus far: my move to Maine!  I’m a huge mess of emotions…excited/anxious/nauseous all rolled together, each one rearing its head at different times.  But it wouldn’t be much of an adventure without fear.  In your twenties, the time is ripe for taking risks like this.  If not now, when?  And I’ve never even been to Maine!  I guess I can cross moving to a place I’ve never seen off the bucket list.

I’m so excited to experience life in a seaside, New England town though.  There’s so much history and charm.  Plus, I read that Portland is the “foodiest small town in America.”  A lot of emphasis is on seasonal, local food from surrounding farms.  I can’t wait to incorporate Maine into my cooking!

Now that autumn is here, I have so many things I want to make.  I’m going to try to crank out a few posts before I move in October, so we’ll see how it goes.

