Tags

, , , , , ,

Over the years, I’ve made peace with my personal weirdness.  I mean really, almost everyone is weird.  It’s just that my weirdness is different than yours.  People don’t normally think of themselves as weird, but they are.  They just don’t know it.  And the actual normal people out there, well they’re just boring.

So many of my “weird” things used to make me insecure, but now I almost take pride in the ways I’m different.  So what if I hate trashy reality shows and would rather watch the news?  So what if I’m obsessed with fonts?  And recently rugs, weirdly enough.  I could probably spend hours looking at rugs online. (Knowing how to make a rug work in a space separates the men from the boys, so to speak.) So what if I count syllables in my head? (Yeah that happens.  I’ll know if a phrase is exactly ten syllables before I actually count.  Weird?  Yes, yes it is.)

And I was ecstatic when I saw the first kale of the season at the farmers market, taking even myself by surprise.  Because I have an odd relationship with kale.  I wasn’t excited because I love the taste of kale and can’t get enough of it.  But simply because it’s KALE!  It’s so healthy and I should love it.  (I actually do love kale chips.  Who wouldn’t?  It’s the raw kale I’m learning to love.) It also represented the return of autumn produce, which I always enjoy.

So I guess I can add being inordinately excited about learning to love kale to the list of my weirdness.

Kale Salad with Tahini-Lemon Dressing (adapted from A Full Measure of Happiness)

  • 2-3 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 cup tahini (sesame paste)
  • 1/2 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp lemon zest
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp water (or more to thin as needed)
  • few handfuls of kale
  • sunflower seeds or lentils (optional)

Combine the first 6 ingredients in a food processor and process until smooth.

Toss the dressing with the kale and add toppings if you wish.  I went with sunflower seeds, but I want to try the lentils next time.

The lemon makes this dressing tart.  Dare I say, possibly too tart.  Next time I’ll probably cut the lemon content.  Adding a creamy dressing to kale alleviates some of the toughness kale tends to have.

Another fun fact: I am a terrible procrastinator.  Like now, I’m blogging and getting ready to watch the vice presidential debate when I probably (ok definitely) should be packing.  I’m moving hundreds of miles away to Maine…in two days.  After I hit “publish” (and inevitably edit my post obsessively), I’ll be watching/listening to Biden and Ryan duke it out while I try to fit my life into two suitcases and a carry on.

